Preview: Viva Duets - Tony Bennett

By VVN Network, on 08 Aug 03, 2012
Marc Anthony & Tony Bennett

Artist: Tony Bennett
Title: Viva Duets
Release Date: October 23, 2012
Label: Columbia
Format(s): CD, DD

Tony Bennett is going the Duets route a third time but with a bit of a twist. For Viva Duets, out October 23 on Columbia Records, Bennett has teamed up with some of the top names in the Latin music industry including Marc Anthony, Miguel Bose, Robert Carlos, Ana Carolina, Chayanne, Franco DeVita, Gloria Estefan, Vicente Fernandez, Maria Gadu, Juan Luis Guerra, Dani Martin, Romeo Santos, Thalia and Vicentico, with additional duet guests to be announced. A truly international endeavor, Viva Duets features performances in English, Spanish and Portuguese with artists representing eight countries and three continents.

Tony Bennett is known for recording duets live and VIVA DUETS was no exception, with sessions recorded in Ft. Lauderdale, New York, and in the case of famed Mexican performer Vicente Fernandez, on his 400 acre ranch in Guadalajara. All of the tracks are from Bennett's extensive hit catalog, with the exception of the duet with Vicente Fernandez, which features an English/Spanish version of the song, "Return To Me," originally recorded by Dean Martin. VIVA DUETS presents Bennett's classic songs with an international flavor that will generate widespread appeal for this unique multi-lingual presentation. Working with this unprecedented list of Latin artist, many of whom he met for the first time in the recording studio, Bennett commented, "Each of these artists were so warm and welcoming that there was an instant rapport. Latin music has always been about melody and harmony and a lot of soul, so there was a very close artistic connection with each duet guest. I am absolutely thrilled about the record."

On August 3, Bennett is releasing an audio clip of the track The Best is Yet to Come with Chayanne in celebration of his 86th birthday.
Track List:

The following tracks are those recorded so far. Additional tracks will be announced as the release date approaches.

  • For Once In My Life with Marc Anthony
  • Don't Get Around Much Anymore with Miguel Bose
  • The Very Thought of You with Ana Carolina
  • The Best Is Yet to Come with Chayanne
  • The Good Life with Franco DeVita
  • Who Can I Turn To? with Gloria Estefan
  • Return to Me (Regresa A Mi) with Vicente Fernandez
  • Blue Velvet with Maria Gadu
  • Just in Time with Juan Luis Guerra
  • Are You Havin' Any Fun? with Dani Martin
  • The Way You Look Tonight with Thalia
  • Cold, Cold Heart with Vicentico